© 2023 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Stephanie Summerow Dumas Sworn In As Hamilton County Commissioner

Stephanie Summerow Dumas takes the oath of office during a ceremony Jan. 8, 2019.
Tana Weingartner
Stephanie Summerow Dumas takes the oath of office during a ceremony Jan. 8, 2019.

Democrat Stephanie Summerow Dumas was sworn-in Tuesday as the third member of the Hamilton County Board of Commission. She is believed to be the first African-American woman to serve as a county commissioner in Ohio.It was a day of firsts. Summerow Dumas is the first African-American to serve on the Hamilton County commission, and Denise Driehaus is now the first woman to serve the board as president.

Summerow Dumas said the day wasn't about her. "It's about speaking for those who feel they have no voice; who feel they have no hope; who feel they are invisible; who feel they don't; and they feel they are not included."

She says she's coming to the board with a vision that everyone in the county feels that opportunities are available to them. She's focused on transportation and better accessibility along with the budget.

Despite admonitions that politicians shouldn't make promises, Summerow Dumas says she's making some anyway.

"I promise you'll never have to wonder about my integrity," she told an overflowing crowd of friends, family, supporters and county officials in the commission chambers. "You will never have to wonder about my honesty, and you will never have to wonder about my fairness."

Copyright 2021 91.7 WVXU. To see more, visit 91.7 WVXU.

Tana Weingartner earned a bachelor's degree in communication from the University of Cincinnati and a master's degree in mass communication from Miami University. Most recently, she served as news and public affairs producer with WMUB-FM. Ms. Weingartner has earned numerous awards for her reporting, including several Best Reporter awards from the Associated Press and the Ohio Society of Professional Journalists, and a regional Murrow Award. She served on the Ohio Associated Press Broadcasters Board of Directors from 2007 - 2009.