© 2023 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
WOSU TV is experiencing intermittent issues on Spectrum Cable. Watch the live stream on the free PBS app.

Team NEO Honors Local Leaders As Economic Development Champions


Summit County Executive Ilene Shapiro and City of Akron Mayor Dan Horrigan have been named 2020 Regional Economic Development Champions by . The awards were announced at the economic development organization's annual meeting, NEO Rising: Celebrating Today. Building Tomorrow.

The two received the Community Leader's Award for their work to launch Elevate Greater Akron. The plan has mobilized public, private and philanthropic organizations as well as created strategic initiatives that focus on pushing forward Greater Akron's economy.

It espouses five strategies to help the growth of small and medium-sized businesses. They include:

  • increase economic inclusion and opportunity
  • develop talent and skills
  • support downtown development and job hubs
  • focus on innovation and start-ups with high potential
  • better connect and leverage resources

The pair worked closely with local organizations, including the and the to develop the plan.

In a statement Team NEO CEO Bill Koehler noted, “Our Regional Economic Development Champions have contributed significant leadership influence over extended periods of time in search of collaborative strategies pointed toward economic growth and prosperity in our region.”

Copyright 2021 WKSU. To see more, visit .

Melissa Meyers is a senior at Kent pursuing a major in broadcast journalism. Along with interning at WKSU, she is also involved with Kent State's student-run news station, TV2 News. She currently anchors and produces the 6 pm newscast. After college she hopes to get a job working as a news reporter/anchor.