© 2022 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Twenty Columbus Schools To Start Year Online Due To Heatwave

Whetstone High School in Columbus
Debbie Holmes
Whetstone High School is one of 20 Columbus school buildings that will start the new year online due to the heat wave.

Twenty Columbus City Schools are starting the new year in remote learning because of a heatwave currently engulfing central Ohio. The shift to online learning will impact the first two days of school on Thursday and Friday.

A district statement said the 20 buildings lack air conditioning or are in the process of getting HVAC units installed or fixed.

Students who need a Chromebook computer should reach out to their principal or school office to make arrangements to pick up a device.

The district anticipates the affected school will be back in the classroom on Monday, August 30, however it will continue to monitor weather conditions into next week and keep families informed of any additional changes.

The 20 school buildings impacted by the shift to online learning include:

High Schools

  • Columbus Alternative High School (CAHS)
  • Eastmoor Academy
  • Whetstone High School

Middle Schools

  • Arts Impact Middle School
  • Columbus City Preparatory School for Boys
  • Johnson Park Middle School
  • Mifflin Middle School
  • Westmoor Middle School
  • Yorktown Middle School

Elementary Schools

  • Broadleigh Elementary School
  • Columbus Gifted Academy
  • Como Elementary School
  • Fairwood Elementary School
  • Hubbard Elementary School
  • Maize Elementary School
  • North Linden Elementary School
  • Siebert Elementary School
  • Valleyview Elementary School
  • West Broad Elementary School
  • Westgate Elementary School
Steve Brown grew up in nearby Richwood, Ohio and now lives there with his wife and sons. He started his journalism career as a weekend board operator at WOSU while majoring in journalism at Ohio State, where he also wrote for the student newspaper The Lantern and co-founded the organization Students for Public Broadcasting.