© 2023 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Ohio House Democrats To Pick New Leaders After Speaker Battle Fallout

House Speaker Larry Householder and Minority Leader Fred Strahorn at the Ohio Speaker Dias after Householder was elected Speaker of the House.
Andy Chow
Ohio Public Radio
Ohio House Minority Leader Fred Strahorn (right) resigned his post after Larry Householder was elected House Speaker last week.

Ohio House Democrats will pick a new leadership team next week, nearly a week after their leader resigned in the fallout from the battle over which Republican would be Speaker.

Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton) resigned on Friday, after voting for now-former Speaker Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell), who lost the overall House vote to Speaker Larry Householder (R-Glenford).

Twenty six of the 38 House Democrats Strahorn led backed Householder, including David Leland (D-Columbus). He’s not seeking a leadership position in next week’s vote.

“We have some younger people that want to participate. Our caucus is 50 percent women now, and so we’re going to have more women in the minority leadership. So I think it’s going to be exciting. We’re going to have new people. It’s a new day. We have a new Speaker, new Minority Leader,” Leland said.

Emilia Sykes (D-Akron) is the only announced minority leader candidate. Strahorn had been minority leader for four years.

Minority whip Brigid Kelly (D-Cincinnati) also supported Smith and resigned along with Strahorn.