© 2021 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Two New Members Appointed To Columbus City Council

Columbus City Council appointed two new members last night. But the appointment process turned contentious when council-member Charleta Tavares called it a "sham."

Tavares and member Priscilla Tyson abstained from voting for two new members. Council president Mike Mentel says the choice of Troy Miller and Eileen Paley is lawful.

New members Miller and Paley will replace former council members Mary Ellen O'Shaughnessy and Kevin Boyce. O'Shaughnessy was elected Franklin County Clerk of Courts in November and Boyce was recently appointed state treasurer by Governor Ted Strickland.