© 2021 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Northeastern States Sue U.S. EPA Over Midwest Air Pollution Drift

New York and seven other Northeast states are suing the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to get Ohio and eight other states added to the so-called Ozone Transport Region, created under the Clean Air Act to curb air pollution drifting across local borders.

In 2013, eight states in the northeast asked the U.S. EPA to add nine more states to the region. It wasn't until late last year that EPA administrator Scott Pruitt officially denied that petition. The EPA argues there are other programs that reduce industrial smog flowing across state lines.

The federal lawsuit, filed on Dec. 26, 2017, is asking the EPA to reconsider that decision. The agency declined to comment.

The Ohio EPA says it supports the Trump administration's decision. The agency said the state has significantly reduced ozone-causing emissions, and adding stricter regulations could cost the state more than $30 million dollars annually.

Copyright 2021 90.3 WCPN ideastream. To see more, visit 90.3 WCPN ideastream.