© 2021 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Great Lakes Today

Trump nominates three IJC commissioners

Jane Corwin
Jane Corwin

There may soon be some new faces at the helm of the International Joint Commission, which helps protect and regulate the Great Lakes. The White House has announced the names of the three new commissioners for the IJC.

Former New York Assemblywoman Jane Corwin will be designated chair.  The Tonawanda native retired from the state assembly in 2016.

The other nominees are Robert Sisson of Michigan and Lance Yohe of North Dakota. Sisson is the president of ConservAmerica, a self-described "non-partisan" environmental group.

Yohe is the former executive director of the a water advocacy group based in North Dakota.

The nominations are subject to Senate approval.

The IJC has six commissioners, three from the U.S. and three from Canada. They advise both federal governments on environmental issues, and control some dams along the international border.

Copyright 2021 Great Lakes Today. To see more, visit .