© 2023 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Classical 101

Thanksgiving with Cantus

Curtis Johnson
The vocal ensemble Cantus will present a Thanksgiving special Thursday at 7pm on Classical 101

Cantus, one of the premiere men's vocal ensembles, talk with host Alison Young about the holiday, music and food. This year's special presentation will focus on the importance of heritage, including works from the Sacred Harp, Lakota Wiyanki by Herrington/Woodside and is the premiere of Psalm of the Soil, by Sarah Kirkland Snider.

Listen to this Thanksgiving special, Thursday, November 26 starting at 7pm on Classical 101

The playlist for this program will include

  • Simple gifts - Shaker Tune, Arr. Stephen Caracciolo
  • We Gather Together - Hymn Tune Arr. Humble
  • Ain't Got Time To Die - Hall Johnson, arr. Philip Duey
  • Psalm of the Soil - Sarah Kirkland Snider A Thankful Heart - Sacred Harp
  • Holy Manna - Sacred Harp
  • Turkey in the Straw - Trad, arr. Dwight Bigler
  • Fiddle Tune - Arr. Chris Foss
  • Hard Times Come Again No More - Stephen Foster, Arr. Donald Moore
  • Lakota Wiyanki - Judith Herrington and Gail Woodside
  • My Journey Yours - Elise Witt, Arr by Michael Holmes
  • Northwest Passage - Stan Rogers, Arr. Ian Loeppky
  • In Flanders Fields - Christine Donkin
Classical 101 CantusThanksgiving