© 2021 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Classical 101

Music From The Magic Flute and Auld Lang Syne on Fretworks

As we head toward the end of the year, the final Fretworks of 2014 will feature music for guitar based on a Mozart opera to open the hour. Manuel Barrueco will perform the Six Airs From Mozart's The Magic Flute by Fernando Sor. The guitar and Mandolin orchestra from Germany, Fidium Concentus, will have an arrangement of George Frideric Handel's Suite in D minor, originally for solo harpsichord.  Scott Tennant of the Los Angeles Guitar Quartet will play the English Suite by John Duarte, based on English folk music. JoAnn Falletta, better known as a conductor, is back again with Debra Wendells Cross and Robert Alemany for the overture to Rossini's opera La Gazza Ladra, arranged for guitar, flute and clarinet. We'll also hear what is probably the most famous piece of music for guitar and orchestra, the beautiful Adagio from the Concierto de Aranjuez of Spanish composer Joaquin Rodrigo.  Swedish guitarist Goran Sollscher will be accompanied by the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra. To end the hour, Anton del Forno will play his arrangement of Auld Lang Syne.  Join me as we approach end the year on Fretworks, Saturday evening at 7 and Wednesday evening at 7 here on Classical 101. Here's John Williams playing the Adagio from Concierto de Aranjuez: http://youtu.be/ekznnxaGzNU