© 2021 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Classical 101

Guitarist Manuel Barrueco and Casals Quartet in Columbus

Guitarist Manuel Barrueco will join the Casals Quartet for a concert at the Southern Theater Saturday afternoon (Oct. 26) at 4pm.  This presentation of Chamber Music Columbus features new music as well as pieces not heard all that often in concert. They will perform a piece by Spanish composer Eduardo Toldra from 1921, Vistes al mar.  The String Quartet No. 1, "Metamorphoses nocturnes" from 1954 by Hungarian composer Gyorgy Ligeti will be played.  There's also a new work on the program by Roberto Sierra,  Fantasia sobre la Musica Notturna delle Strade de Madrid de Luigi Boccherini (composed 2013). Manuel Barrueco and the Casals Quartet will play perhaps the most famous piece by Luigi Boccherini, his Guitar Quintet in D, "Fandango."  The Italian born Boccherini spent a good portion of his life at the royal court in Madrid, and this quintet from the end of the 18th century epitomizes the Spanish influence in his work. With the lively fandango that gives the piece its name, castanets and all, it concludes with a flurry of strumming and Spanish dance-like energy. Above is a sample of what you'll hear.