© 2023 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Classical 101

The Next Fretworks Features Viola with Guitar and Romance by Anon.

Last week on Fretworks Saturday evening at 7, we had the famous anonymous short piece, Romance, arranged for guitar and orchestra. There will be contemporary works for viola and guitar and for guitar quartet and also, a big early 19th century Italian guitar concerto, along with music for solo guitar from Paraguay. Guitarist Milos Karadaglic, from Montenegro, heard on the the program, as well as Canadian guitarist Jeffrey McFadden who played dances by Agustin Barrios. Contemporary music included the Field and Franz Duo, who played movements from the Sonata for Viola and Guitar by French composer Erik Marchelie, and the Minneapolis Guitar Quartet played Genesis V by Janika Vendervelde. We also went to the early 19th century for a grand work for guitar and orchestra, the Guitar Concertino in E-minor by Francesco Molino.  He was one of a group of Italian composers writing for the guitar at that time that included Fernando Sor, Mauro Giuliani and Ferdinando Carulli. Above is Milos Karadaglic playing the solo version of the Romance.