© 2022 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Classical 101

Concerts @ Ohio State

Classical 101's third season of concerts from the School of Music at The Ohio State University begins Sunday, January 6 at 1 pm. Please join me for a wide-ranging repertoire and some emerging talents deserving of exposure and encouragement. Not to mention wonderful performances from members of our faculty. I'm proud of this series. OSU School of Music Director Rick Blatti  made it happen, along with his colleague Katherine Borst Jones.  Not forgetting all of their colleagues and most of all, the more than 600 students. We'll present orchestras, choruses, glee clubs, chamber ensembles, instrumentalists and a percussion ensemble. Not to mention some pithy guest commentary. You'll need to listen to find out, but trust me, you'll be surprised. Concerts @ Ohio State Sundays at 1 pm on Classical 101 Here's the schedule for January: January 6 Wagner: Overture to Die Meistersinger OSU Symphony/Marhsall Haddock  Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on a Theme of Thoma Tallis  OSU Flute Troupe Capuzzi: Andante and Rondo Henry Attaway, euphonium; Ben McMurray, piano Handel: Sonata 2 in G Karen Pierson and Benjamin Kamins, bassoon; Thomas Wells harpsichord; Mark Rudoff, cello Wm. Schumann: New England Triptych OSU Symphonic Band/Aaron Givens January 13 Gershwin: A Cuban Overture OSU Wind Symphony Bach: Partita 2 Juan Carlos Ortega, violin Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances (exc.)  Miyun Lee, piano Beethoven:  Piano Trio in D, Op. 70, no. 1 Juan Carlos Ortega, violin; Tzu Yun Chen; Sekeoung Seoung January 20 Schumann: Kreisleriana (exc.)  Luis Obregon, piano Hagen: Moon Goddess OSU Women's Glee Club; I Can't Tarry OSU Men's Glee Club Faure: Impromptu-Caprice Victoria Bill, harp Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition Russel Mikkelson January 27 Nin: El Vito Olga Perez, mezzo-soprano; Ed Bak, piano Zyman: Sonata for Flute and Piano Rachel Haug, flute; Ed Bak, piano Koppel: Toccata for Vibraphone and Marimba Juan Medoza and Kevin Estes, percussion Stravinsky: Firebird /em> OSU Symphony/Marshall Haddock