© 2021 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Classical 101

The Haffner Symphony of Mozart on Symphony at 7

The symphony we know as No. 35 in D by Mozart from 1782 and called the Haffner Symphony, was actually his second major composition written for the prominent Salzburg family of that name. Several years earlier he had composed the eight-movement (and grand) Haffner Serenade for wedding festivities for the sister of Sigmund Haffner, Mozart's friend and contemporary. The Symphony in D apparently also began its life as another serenade for the same family on the occasion of Sigmund Haffner's ennoblement, but Mozart reworked it into a standard four-movement form for a classical symphony. The result was the first of his truly great symphonies (not that the earlier ones were bad!) that are often grouped together as the "Late Symphonies" that include Nos, 35, 36, 38, 39, 40, and 41. This evening on Symphony at 7, join me for the first of that illustrious set of symphonies. In the meantime, here's a sample: http://youtu.be/yNDFJwWHnRA