© 2021 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Classical 101

16th International Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition

The finalists in the 16th International Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition have been named, and the final rounds unfold today, tomorrow and Wednesday at noon Eastern Daylight Time (6 p.m. Warsaw time). And if you'd like to learn more about the judges of this edition of the Chopin Competition and read what they have to say about all things Frederic Chopin, keep up with the competition's newspaper here. While winning the Chopin Competition is no guarantee of pianistic fame and fortune, it has luanched some world-class careers. You might recognize some of the names on the roster of past first-prize winners: Krystian Zimermann, Garrick Ohlsson, Martha Argerich, Maurizio Pollini and, more recently, Yundi Li and Rafal Blechacz. Silver medalists have included Mitsuko Uchida and Ingrid Fliter, and Gabriela Montero is a past third-prize winner. None of these folks is a stranger to WOSU's air, and when it comes to tickling the ivories, none of them is a slouch. So if you do catch the Chopin Competition finals, happy listening. You'll be hearing history in the making.